Concorde Training for ATCOs

Gareth Moore

• Members
    • View Profile
Concorde Training for ATCOs
« on: June 02, 2020, 08:22:53 AM »
Hello Canadian friends!

First of all I want to thank you guys for all the great work you do, flying over Canada in VATSIM is always a positive experience and you guys do a brilliantly professional job.

I've been flying Concorde on the network since 2007 and have never had any issues with getting any supersonic clearance over land in Canada as I always fly along the route Concorde flew supersonic over Canada in real life.

Very recently however during the Cross the Prairies event I was confronted by a young man who's name isn't important cause that's not what this is about and he demanded that I slow down because super sonic flight was illegal despite me filing my FP correctly and having already received supersonic clearance from another Canadian Controller. 

I then tried to politely explain to him that supersonic flight over land on VATSIM is not illegal despite it being illegal in real life (this is a game after all) and that the route I was flying on was the real world route that Concorde had flown super sonic on.

Despite this however he reported me to a supervisor and I was forced to disconnect from the network, which I did to avoid any further conflict despite knowing that I was not the person in the wrong. 
Sadly the said controller had informed the Sup that it was essential for me to obey his instruction as I was interfering with his traffic pattern, despite me being at 60,000ft and some 400nm away from the closest aircraft ( I did not follow the subsonic traffic on the fly in route but went to the high north for the super sonic transit instead). 
So I had to disconnect not on the basis that I was supersonic over land (which is not illegal on VATSIM) but on the basis that the controller 'needed' me to slow down (which he didn't) because he incorrectly believed it was illegal for me to be supersonic.